Shōdo Island (小豆島 Shōdoshima) is an island located in the Inland Sea of Japan. The name means literally “Island of Small Beans”, which technically refers to the azuki bean but today would more fittingly refer to the soy bean or olive as the island has traditionally been a producer of soy sauce and now is even better known for its olive plantations. There are two […]

Karuizawa (軽井沢町 Karuizawa-machi) is a town located in Kitasaku District in south-central Nagano Prefecture, in the Chūbu region of Japan. Karuizawa is a mountain resort town only an hour from Tokyo on the Nagano shinkansen bullet train. Karuizawa draws visitors year round with its skiing, golfing, hiking, good dining, hot spa, natural scenery, and shopping opportunities. Karuizawa is nestled at the foot of mountains in the middle of Honshu, in […]

Kamakura (鎌倉市 Kamakura-shi) is a city in Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan, about 50 kilometres (31 miles) south-south-west of Tokyo. Although Kamakura proper is today rather small, it is often described in history books as a former de facto capital of Japan as the seat of the Shogunate and of the Regency during the Kamakura Period. Kamakura was designated as a city on November 3, 1939. As of September 1, 2016, […]

Aogashima (青ヶ島) is a volcanic Japanese island in the Philippine Sea. The island is administered by Tokyo and located approximately 358 kilometres (222 mi) south of Tokyo and 64 kilometres (40 mi) south of Hachijō-jima. It is the southernmost and most isolated inhabited island of the Izu archipelago. The village of Aogashima administers the island under Hachijō Subprefecture of Tokyo Metropolis. The island’s area is 8.75 km2 (3.38 sq mi) and, as of 2014, its […]

History: Fukuoka 福岡市 is a city situated on the cost of the northern part of the Kyushu island (the one of the south of Japan). It is the biggest city there and so the capital of the Fukuoka Prefecture. Fukuoka is also the fifth largest city in Japan with 1,5 million of inhabitants. Sometimes the […]